5 DOPE BOOKS ON MY TO-READ LIST ft. childhood reading flashbacks

 

giphy.gif

Books and I were like peanut butter and bananas growing up.

I fondly remember our loving relationship stretching back to the blue skied and white clouded years of elementary school. Back then, I was obsessed with this thing called the AR (or, Accelerated Reading) program. Whenever you finished reading a book from my school’s library you could take a short (5-10 questions) test about the plot and characters. Depending on how well you did on the test and how challenging of a read it was, you’d get a certain amount of AR points.

I remember I used to read through books that were slightly harder to read but AR point heavy like this series about medieval mice.

51Of+me5fdL.jpg

I also remember speed-reading through other, less demanding books and taking 3-5 quizzes a week to rack up the points. Was I finessing the system? Probably. 

But at the end of the year there was the one, the only, the AR store. You could buy things like funky Lisa Frank-esque pencils, multicolored pencil erasers, and stuffed animals. But, what I usually had my eyes on were the posters. I specifically remember scoring this super awesome and totally not corny SpongeBob poster in particular, which I still have at my house (somewhere) to this very day.

7b164f316a4a8cb22b294f33bc64c433.jpg

What I’m trying to convey to y’all is that I’ve grown up on books. But recently, I’ve lost my passion for reading. It’s probably due to the strange attachment I’ve grown to have with my smart phone and social media. But, I’ve decided that now is the perfect time to jump back into the wild waters of reading.

Here are a couple books I’ve had my eye on:

  1. Charlamagne Tha God – Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes To Those Who Create It

black-privilege-9781501145308_hr.jpg

2. Phoebe Robinson – You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain 

9780143129202.jpg

3. Issa Rae – The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl 

the-misadventures-of-awkward-black-girl-9781476749075_hr.jpg

4. The Coldest Winter Ever – Sister Souljah

51hhjnaC6eL.jpg

5. Game Over – Winter Ramos

91nB5QEqkeL.jpg

I haven’t had a good page-turner in a while, and just looking at these books makes me excited to start. I plan to at least read a book or two by the time the fall season is upon us!

Do you remember the AR program? What did you used to read when you were a child? Do you read for fun now, if so what’s on your to-read list? Let me know down in the comments below. 

xoxo

8 thoughts on “5 DOPE BOOKS ON MY TO-READ LIST ft. childhood reading flashbacks

  1. I read the sample of Charlamagne’s Black Privilege book on iBooks and it seems like a pretty good book, if you do ever get around to reading it I’d love to know how it really was. Also! Kevin Hart’s book I recommend it, another person I never would’ve thought would make an interesting book.

    Leah
    @ETTENOMHAEL
    therightdirections.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the whole list, but first am going to check out “Charlamagne Tha God – Black Privilege” looks like a good book then You Can’t Touch My Hair.

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed this article. I absolutely love to read and remember some of these books from my high school days. However, I must admit reading lost its luster after having to read many books in college, but I want to get back into it. And i will definitely be using your list as my go too… Thanks for the scoop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

