INSECURE SEASON 2 EPISODE 1 RECAP/REVIEW

I love Insecure.

Insecure-Cast.jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve seen a show that’s so unapologetically black. I swear the room smells like cocoa butter every time I have the pleasure of watching this program. Being a black woman in today’s society, it’s hard to find a TV show with characters that represent you accurately. But Insecure, let me tell y’all. That is MY show.

Season 2 of Insecure premiered on HBO last night. I just caught up with the new episode earlier this morning on my new best friend, HBOGO. And y’all, I just have to talk about it.

****SPOILER ALERT SPOILER SPOOOOOILERRRRR********

So, basically Issa’s still in the same place that she was at the end of last season. Just, you know, sans Lawrence.

insecure-season-2-episode-1-jay-ellis.png

Who is still as beautiful as ever.

She’s still working for that non-profit and living in the same place that her and Lawrence used to kick it at. The only thing that’s changed is that she’s started to date other guys. Each of them seems more and more irrelevant than the other. She tells Molly (and all of us) that she wants Lawrence back, but doubts it’ll happen. Even though they haven’t spoken in weeks she’s been trying to finesse Lawrence into seeing her again. Later, she gets super hyped up off of the fact a notice for jury duty came for Lawrence, so he HAS to come see her to pick it up.

Even though they haven’t spoken in weeks she’s been trying to finesse Lawrence into seeing her again. Later, she gets super hyped up off of the fact a notice for jury duty came for Lawrence, so he HAS to come see her to pick it up.

giphy.gif

I was dying at that scene!

Meanwhile, Molly’s actually seeing a therapist even though she doesn’t seem to want to talk about her problems. But, isn’t that the point?  Then later, she finds a check that reveals her white male co-worker is making more than her. Molly is taking too many Ls in this episode and I’m not here for it. I want her to win!

And then there’s Lawrence. Ah, Lawrence. He’s staying at his friend’s crib while he’s “looking for an apartment”. He’s still working, which makes me happy. What surprised me, is that he’s still hooking up with Tanya (She’s that one girl that works at his job; I had to remind myself where she was from too). I personally thought that was going to be a one and done type of thing, but I was wrong y’all. It doesn’t seem to be an official thing from what his friend was saying, but Lawrence seems to like where he’s at with her. Probably cause there’s no risk and a whole bunch of reward.

But the last scene. THAT LAST SCENE.

Lawrence finally shows up at Issa’s place to get the jury duty mail and…things happen y’all!

I was like:

88cf611550aa63122c4e9a973aa7c29f58c9f935.gif

You better gon’ head girl!

But, I have so many questions for the rest of the season: What’s the future of Lawrence and Issa’s relationship looking like? Will Molly finally get the praise that she deserves at work? Will Issa’s Blood neighbor ever say a C word? 

All I know is that every week my butt will surely be on the living room couch every Monday night (or, Tuesday morning) getting my Insecure fix. I am hooked like a sea bass honey.

Do you watch Insecure? How’d you feel about the premiere episode? Do you have any other TV recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments section below. 

xoxo

One thought on “INSECURE SEASON 2 EPISODE 1 RECAP/REVIEW

Leave a Reply

