#niathoughts – how to attack life ft. seeking a friend for the end of the world

I often spend my nights running through the endless field of weeds (and spontaneous roses) that is Netflix. I can often be an indecisive person so something as extensive and never-ending as Netflix can be a source of anxiety for me. Even though I want to find something new, fresh, and interesting to watch I have so much to choose from that I stress myself out, and end up watching another The Office episode for the seventeenth time.

tenor.gif

First world problems, I know.

Last night, I stumbled across a movie that I’ve been vaguely aware of for years now: Seeking a Friend for the End of the World. With Steve Carell (a.k.a Michael Scott) as the movie’s front-runner, I figure that it would at least keep me interested through the flick’s run-time. Now that it’s over it’s got me thinking. Movies these days rarely get me to do that sort of thing.

seeking-a-friend-for-the-end-of-the-world.jpg

Grasping the finality of death is something that many people shy away from. But, when you’re met with the impending doom of the apocalypse you really have no choice but to face it. In this movie, the main characters are given a sure-fire date of their demise. It happens to be three weeks from the start of the movie. That’s not a lot of time at all.

It just makes me think, what would I do if I (along with everyone else) only had three weeks to live? How would I attack life? One of the most important questions I pondered over was who would I want to spend time with? It’s honestly saddening to wonder about, but I’m thankful that situation isn’t my personal reality.

The movie just made me realize that you don’t have to be facing catastrophic circumstances in order to go after what you want. Lately, my life’s been at quite the stand-still and I’ve been stuck in a monotonous routine. But, life’s about taking risks. It’s about putting forth the effort to experience firsthand the beautifully awkward and wonderful world around you.

I challenge you, random-reader, to do something for the first time today. You don’t have to do something drastic first off. Broaden your horizons just a smidge. Whether it be going to a different place for lunch or finally take up journalizing, shift your routine. Thankfully you don’t have the fear of the apocalypse looming over your shoulder so changes can be more gradual if you need them to be. It all starts with the first step.

Or, you can just skip all the steps and make that move across the country to Los Angeles to be with your first love that you’ve always been day-dreaming about. It’s all up to you. It’s cool how life’s like that.

tumblr_mmu704SYpL1so0cjqo1_500.gif

 

One thought on “#niathoughts – how to attack life ft. seeking a friend for the end of the world

Leave a Reply

